Nakd Bars; The energy bar review
Snack Reviews, Uncategorized

Nakd Bars

Nakd bars were one of the first healthy energy snacks I ever tried. If I’m honest I remember being pretty underwhelmed when I first had one, but let’s not be a negative nancy to start the post. 100% natural fruit & nuts bars that are vegan; wheat, dairy & gluten-free (also not a concern of mine) and as they say, ‘lovingly smooshed together.’

Another company with a lovely ethos (I’m such a sucker for these) that want to provide tasty, good-for-you snacks for the whole family. They have a vast swathe of products (see here: Nakd Bars) and an insane amount of flavours, totally unrivalled by other companies. So clearly they’re doing something right! But, here comes the potentially hard-hitting truths from the Protein Bar Professor.

Taste: 5/10. So the first issue here is that there are too many flavours to accurately rank. I’m talking mocha to lemon drizzle and rhubard & custard to apple pie. The issue they have is that it becomes very difficult to only use fruit and nuts (and a few spices) and make them taste like lemon drizzle for example. All relatively samey, which is a shame.

Packaging (yes it matters): 7.5/10. Decent packaging. It’s vibrant without being garish; stands out and gives you that wholesome, healthy feel. Could maybe do with a little more of the actual ingredient on the bar in my unbelievably accurate opinion.

Macros: 4/10. OK so not the best here. It should be added that the bars themselves are quite small and only 150 ish calories a pop, but the macro breakdown is poor. 7 grams of fat, 15-16 carbohydrates (90% of which are sugars) and 3-4 grams of protein. So a bit shoddy for IIFYM or flexible dieting, but another vegan winner!

Ingredients: 8/10. Just a mixture of dried fruits, nuts, cocoa powder, bananas, oats and the like. Given that they’re fairly high in sugar, I am surprised they don’t use slightly more oats and some sort of essential oil to improve the macros, but I don’t know what I’m talking about (a la Pulsin Bars – shameless plug)!

Price: 7/10. Yes they are cheap. Somewhere between 80p – £1 usually, but they only weight 35 grams. So here’s the conundrum; you don’t spend much at all, but you don’t get much in return. I’m a big (ish) guy, I need filling, so fill me (with energy bars)!

Total: 31.5/50. 63% for Nakd. That’s better than I thought they would get so I’ve clearly been too kind to the guys as at the end of the day, I’m here to tell you all what to buy to maximise the consumer experience.

Peace x

Leave a Reply

